Shohei Ohtani, Mike Trout Among Finalists For 2022 Players Choice Awards
Mike Trout, Shohei Ohtani, 2021 Season
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The complete list of finalists for the 2022 Players Choice Awards has been released, among them, Shohei Ohtani and Mike Trout represent the Los Angeles Angels for their performance during the 2022 regular season.

The Players Choice Awards have a special meaning, mainly due to the winners being selected by their peers. The winners will be announced Thursday, Nov. 3 on ESPN at 6 p.m. ET during SportsCenter’s broadcast.

In addition to the Player of the Year, the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award will be given out for the third time since its inception in 2020. Miller served as the Major League Baseball Players Association’s first full-time executive director from 1966-1982 and as a result of his efforts, created one of America’s strongest labor unions.

Player of the Year

Paul Goldschmidt

Aaron Judge

Shohei Ohtani

Outstanding Player Award

American Leauge: Aaron Judge and Shohei Ohtani

National League: Freddie Freeman, Paul Goldschmidt and Austin Riley

Outstanding Pitcher Award

American League: Dylan Cease, Alek Manoah, and Justin Verlander

National League: Sandy Alcantara, Zac Gallen, and Julio Urías

Outstanding Rookie Award

American Leauge: Julio Rodríguez, Adley Rutschman, and Bobby Witt Jr.

National League: Brendan Donovan, Michael Harris II, and Spencer Strider

Comeback Player Award

American League: Matt Carpenter, Mike Trout, and Justin Verlander

National League: Ronald Acuña Jr., Brandon Drury, and Albert Pujols

Marvin Miller Man of the Year

Francisco Lindor, Marcus Semien, and Brent Suter

Curt Flood Award

Buck Martinez, Brooks Robinson, and Steve Rogers

Trout and Ohtani have been some of the only bright spots for the Angels this past season, and their efforts are being recognized on multiple fronts, by players, front-office members, and the fans.

Shohei Ohtani and Mike Trout are Hank Aaron award nominees

The finalists for the 2022 Hank Aaron Award were announced with eight nominees from each league up for the prestigious honor handed out to the most outstanding regular-season offensive performances.

The award is voted on by the fans and a panel of Hall of Fame players, including Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Pedro Martínez, Eddie Murray, John Smoltz, and Robin Yount. Fan voting is currently underway, and the 16 finalists have been widdled down from the original group of 30 players.

Given annually since 1999, the award was given out in the 25th year after Aaron broke Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record of 714.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *