Jared Walsh Voted Angels’ Winner Of 2022 Heart & Hustle Award
Jared Walsh
Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Jared Walsh was named the Los Angeles Angels’ winner of the 2022 Heart and Hustle Award, which is presented annually by the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) to one player on each team who “best embodies the values, spirits and traditions of baseball,” along with factoring in on-field performance.

The Heart and Hustle Award was established in 2005 and it’s the only award in MLB that is voted on by former players, which is conducted prior to the All-Star break.

Recent Angels winners include David Fletcher (2021 and 2019), Mike Trout (2018) and Andrelton Simmons (2017).

Walsh is in the midst of a disappointing season after being selected to his first All-Star Game last year. He is batting only 231/.277/.408 with 18 doubles, 14 home runs and 42 RBI in 386 plate appearances (99 games).

The MLBPAA formed 30 committees, comprised of Alumni players with established relationships to each team. One player from each Major League team is chosen by the committees based on their passion, desire and work ethic demonstrated both on and off the field.

As the 2022 season draws to a close, all alumni and active players will vote to select the final winner from the 30 team winners.

The previous overall winners are David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), Grady Sizemore (2008), Albert Pujols (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), Mike Trout (2012), Dustin Pedroia (2013), Josh Harrison (2014), Anthony Rizzo (2015), Todd Frazier (2016), Brett Gardner (2017), Mookie Betts (2018), Howie Kendrick (2019) and Ozzie Albies (2021).

A Heart and Hustle Award was not presented in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This year’s honor will be announced in mid-November on MLB Network.

Individual team winners of 2022 Heart & Hustle Award

American League

Baltimore Orioles: Austin Hays
Boston Red Sox: Rafael Devers
Chicago White Sox: José Abreu
Cleveland Guardians: José Ramírez
Detroit Tigers: Eric Haase
Houston Astros: Jose Altuve
Kansas City Royals: Bobby Witt Jr.
Los Angeles Angels: Jared Walsh
Minnesota Twins: Luis Arraez
New York Yankees: Jose Trevino
Oakland Athletics: Chad Pinder
Seattle Mariners: Eugenio Suárez
Tampa Bay Rays: Manuel Margot
Texas Rangers: Adolis García
Toronto Blue Jays: Matt Chapman

National League

Arizona Diamondbacks: Daulton Varsho
Atlanta Braves: Dansby Swanson
Chicago Cubs: Willson Contreras
Cincinnati Reds: Kyle Farmer
Colorado Rockies: Connor Joe
Los Angeles Dodgers: Trea Turner
Miami Marlins: Jon Berti
Milwaukee Brewers: Jace Peterson
New York Mets: Brandon Nimmo
Philadelphia Phillies: Rhys Hoskins
Pittsburgh Pirates: Bryan Reynolds
San Diego Padres: Jake Cronenworth
San Francisco Giants: Wilmer Flores
St. Louis Cardinals: Paul Goldschmidt
Washington Nationals: Josh Bell*

*Bell remains the Nationals nominee despite being acquired by the Padres after the committee voting was finalized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *