Gold Glove Winners Announced, Angels Walk Away Without Winners
MLB: Los Angeles Angels at Tampa Bay Rays
Jonathan Dyer-USA TODAY Sports

The winners of the 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were announced on Tuesday, the first major awards to be handed out for the 2022 campaign. The Gold Glove is given to one player at each position in each league who is considered the best defensive player.

In a historic year, 14 players received their first ever Gold Glove award, smashing the previous record of 11, set in 2020 and 1958. This included nine first-time winners in the American League, a record for one league and breaking the previous record of seven in 1990 and 2020.

Additionally, three rookies — Steven Kwan, Jeremy Peña, and Brendan Donovan — took home a Gold Glove, breaking the previous record of two. And while there were two additional awards handed out with the introduction of the utility Gold Glove, the previous records were still easily eclipsed.

The Los Angeles Angels had two finalists — Luis Rengifo and now Philadelphia Phillies center fielder Brandon Marsh — who lost out to DJ LeMahieu and Kwan, respectively. The Cleveland Guardians led the way in the AL with four winners, while the St. Louis Cardinals and Atlanta Braves each had two.

Below is the full list of Rawlings Gold Glove winners in the American and National League. The parentheses represents the number of Gold Gloves this player has won.

AL Gold Glove Winners

Catcher: Jose Trevino, New York Yankees (1)
First Base: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays (1)
Second Base: Andrés Giménez, Cleveland Guardians (1)
Shortstop: Jeremy Peña, Houston Astros (1)
Third Base: Ramón Urias, Baltimore Orioles (1)
Left Field: Steven Kwan, Cleveland Guardians (1)
Center Field: Myles Straw, Cleveland Guardians (1)
Right Field: Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros (1)
Pitcher: Shane Bieber, Cleveland Guardians (1)
Utility: DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees (4)

NL Gold Glove Winners

Catcher: J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies (2)
First Base: Christian Walker, Arizona Diamondbacks (1)
Second Base: Brendan Rodgers, Colorado Rockies (1)
Shortstop: Dansby Swanson, Atlanta Braves (1)
Third Base: Nolan Arenado, St. Louis Cardinals (10)
Left Field: Ian Happ, Chicago Cubs (1)
Center Field: Trent Grisham, San Diego Padres (2)
Right Field: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers (6)
Pitcher: Max Fried, Atlanta Braves (3)
Utility: Brendan Donovan, St. Louis Cardinals (1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *