Complete List Of 2023 Players Choice Awards Finalists
MLB: San Francisco Giants at Los Angeles Angels
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA) announced the 2023 Players Choice Awards finalists, which included Los Angeles Angels star Shohei Ohtani being nominated for two honors.

Ohtani is one of three finalists for Player of the Year, along with the Atlanta Braves’ Ronald Acuña Jr. and Los Angeles Dodgers’ Mookie Betts. Ohtani is also up for the American League Outstanding Player Award, joining the Tampa Bay Rays’ Yandy Díaz and Texas Rangers’ Corey Seager.

Ohtani hit a stellar .304/.412/.654 with 26 doubles, eight triples, 44 home runs, 95 RBI and 20 stolen bases in 599 plate appearances this season (135 games). On the mound, he went 10-5 with a 3.14 ERA, 4.00 FIP, 1.06 WHIP and 11.4 strikeouts per nine in 132 innings pitched (23 starts).

Ohtani is the clear favorite for AL MVP honors and previously was named a finalist for the Hank Aaron Award.

Other honors include the prestigious Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, which is given annually to the Player “whose leadership most inspires others to higher levels of achievement.”

The Curt Flood Award will additionally be given to a living or deceased former player “who in the image of Flood demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of Players’ rights.”

Since 1992, the Players Choice Awards have recognized on- and off-field performances. Voting among all players was conducted in late September.

All 2023 Players Choice Awards winners will be announced Thursday, November 2, during the 3 p.m. PT edition of SportsCenter on ESPN.

2023 Players Choice Awards finalists

MLB Player of the Year

Ronald Acuña Jr. (Atlanta Braves), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)

Outstanding Player Award

American League: Yandy Díaz (Tampa Bay Rays), Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels), Corey Seager (Texas Rangers)

National League: Ronald Acuña Jr. (Atlanta Braves), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Matt Olson (Atlanta Braves)

Outstanding Pitcher Award

American League: Kyle Bradish (Baltimore Orioles), Gerrit Cole (New York Yankees), Sonny Gray (Minnesota Twins)

National League: Zac Gallen (Arizona Diamondbacks), Blake Snell (San Diego Padres), Justin Steele (Chicago Cubs)

Outstanding Rookie Award

American League: Triston Casas (Boston Red Sox), Gunnar Henderson (Baltimore Orioles), Josh Jung (Texas Rangers)

National League: Corbin Carroll (Arizona Diamondbacks), Kodai Senga (Chicago Cubs), Spencer Steer (Cincinnati Reds)

Comeback Player Award

American League: Tyler Glasnow (Tampa Bay Rays), Liam Hendriks (Chicago White Sox), Ryan O’Hearn (Baltimore Orioles)

National League: Cody Bellinger (Chicago Cubs), Michael Conforto (San Francisco Giants), Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies)

Marvin Miller Man of the Year

Ian Happ (Chicago Cubs), Francisco Lindor (New York Mets), Marcus Semien (Texas Rangers)

Curt Flood Award

Phil Bradley, Scott Sanderson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *