Angels Pre & Postgame Shows Adapting During Bally Sports West Bankruptcy Proceedings
MLB: New York Yankees at Los Angeles Angels
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

When the Diamond Sports Group (DSG) filed for bankruptcy in early March, it spelled numerous changes coming to how Los Angeles Angels games are broadcasted. The Angels are just one of the 42 professional teams in their 19 networks under the Bally Sports Regional Sports banner.

A judge ordered the group to pay half of what they owed to Major League Baseball clubs after they failed to make good on their contractual obligations by certain deadlines.

But the trickle down from their bankruptcy announcement is being felt in other ways aside from cash flow. The Angels made some changes to a few things in their day-to-day broadcasts, and according to Jeff Fletcher of the O.C. Register, their game day operations have adjusted the most:

The Angels’ pre- and postgame television shows are now shot from inside the ballpark as a cost-cutting measure by Bally Sports West, whose parent company is undergoing bankruptcy proceedings. Fewer crew members are required to do the show from inside the ballpark than from outside the stadium.

MLB had hinted at fallback options prior to the regular season, including taking over every broadcast impacted by the Bally Sports bankruptcy. Commissioner Rob Manfred was adamant that fans would not lose the ability to watch their teams.

DSG reported they held a growing $8.6 billion debt that would require restructuring.

The Angels made a few changes to their announcers ahead of 2023, adding Wayne Randazzo as their new play-by-play voice. Their broadcast crew also includes Patrick O’Neal and Matt Vasgersian, alongside Mark Gubicza.

Other teams affected by Bally Sports bankruptcy

Sinclair broadcasts their games through Bally Sports, which holds exclusive local rights to 42 pro sports teams.

These teams include the Arizona Diamondbacks, Atlanta Braves, Cincinnati Reds, Cleveland Guardians, Detroit Tigers, Kansas City Royals, Miami Marlins, Milwaukee Brewers, Minnesota Twins, St. Louis Cardinals, San Diego Padres, Tampa Bay Rays and Texas Rangers.

Make sure to follow Angels Nation on Twitter for all the latest news and updates surrounding the Halos!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *