Angels News: Shohei Ohtani Named Player Of The Year Finalist For 2021 Players Choice Awards
Shohei Ohtani, 2021 Season
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Los Angeles Angels two-way star Shohei Ohtani made headlines all season with his historic performances at the plate and on the mound. Now, as the season nears an end, he will start being rewarded with an endless array of awards.

The Players Choice Awards is an annual award show where the winners are chosen by the players, making it even more significant than some of the other awards given out during this time. Each year, the players vote on six awards, but the two most meaningful are the Player of the Year and the Marvin Miller Man of the Year.

The Player of the Year is — as stated — given to who the players felt had the best individual performance that season. The Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award is given to a player “whose leadership most inspires others to higher levels of achievement.”

Ohtani has been named a finalist for two of the six awards, including the coveted Player of the Year Award and the American League Outstanding Player Award.

The other nominees for Player of the Year are Toronto Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Philadelphia Phillies outfielder Bryce Harper. Guerrero Jr. joins Ohtani and Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez in the AL Outstanding Player category.

The finalists for the official MLB award have not yet been announced, but Ohtani has already been named a finalist for the 2021 Hank Aaron Award and has won Baseball Digest’s Player of the Year award.

The winners of the 2021 Players Choice Awards will be announced on Thursday, October 28 at 3:00 p.m. PT via ESPN’s SportsCenter.

Full List of Nominees

Player of the Year
Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays
Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies
Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels

Marvin Miller Man of the Year

Andrew Miller, St. Louis Cardinals
Max Scherzer, Los Angeles Dodgers
Marcus Semien, Toronto Blue Jays

Outstanding Player Award
American League:
Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays
Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels
Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

National League:
Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies
Austin Riley, Atlanta Braves
Juan Soto, Washington Nationals
Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres

Outstanding Pitcher Award
American League:
Gerrit Cole, New York Yankees
Lance Lynn, Chicago White Sox
Robbie Ray, Toronto Blue Jays

National League:
Corbin Burnes, Milwaukee Brewers
Max Scherzer, Los Angeles Dodgers
Zack Wheeler, Philadelphia Phillies

Outstanding Rookie Award
American League:
Randy Arozarena, Tampa Bay Rays
Adolis Garcia, Texas Rangers
Ryan Mountcastle, Baltimore Orioles

National League:
Dylan Carlson, St. Louis Cardinals
Jonathan India, Cincinatti Reds
Patrick Wisdom, Chicago Cubs

Comeback Player Award
American League:
Mitch Haniger, Seattle Mariners
Trey Mancini, Baltimore Orioles
Cedric Mullins, Baltimore Orioles

National League:
Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants
Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
Joey Votto, Cincinatti Reds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *