2021 MLB Awards: Angels’ Shohei Ohtani Unanimously Wins AL MVP
Shohei Ohtani, 2021 Season
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

For the fourth time in the last eight years, the AL MVP winner resides in Anaheim. Los Angeles Angels two-way star Shohei Ohtani has been unanimously named the 2021 American League Most Valuable Player.

The voting process for this award was merely a formality, as Ohtani had this award locked up for several months to end the season. The Angels star put up one of the greatest individual seasons of all time, putting together elite seasons as a designated hitter and as a pitcher.

At the plate, Ohtani had a .965 OPS, 46 home runs, 100 RBIs, 26 stolen bases, 96 walks drawn, and a 152 wRC+. On the mound, Ohtani started 23 games, pitched 130.1 innings, and had a 3.18 ERA, a 1.090 WHIP, 156 strikeouts, and a 141 ERA+.

Ohtani described the moment as special and motivating for next season. “It’s obviously my first time winning the MVP, so that was special alone,” Ohtani said. “But getting it unanimously makes it that much more special and helps me get motivated to keep on putting up big numbers and excel for the next season.”

Angels teammate and superstar Mike Trout took to Twitter to congratulate Ohtani on well-deserved recognition for his unbelievable season.

Other Angels organization members to publicly congratulate Ohtani included Joe Maddon, Perry Minasian, Max Stassi, and newest Angel Noah Syndergaard.

Ohtani became just the second Japanese-born player to win an MVP — Ichiro Suzuki — and was the first player since Trout in 2014 to win an MVP unanimously. Because of Trout’s injury limiting him to just 38 games, it was the first time in his illustrious career that he did not receive a single vote.

The NL MVP award went to Philadelphia Phillies slugger Bryce Harper. Harper won his second MVP award and became the first player to win two MVP awards with two different teams.

Full voting results for the AL MVP award can be seen below.

American League MVP

Player (First place votes, point total)

1. Shohei Ohtani, Angels (30, 420)
2. Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays (0, 269)
3. Marcus Semien, Blue Jays (0, 232)
4. Aaron Judge, Yankees (0, 171)
5. Carlos Correa, Astros (0, 163)
6. Jose Ramirez, Indians (0, 133)
7. Salvador Perez, Royals (0, 103)
8. Matt Olson, Athletics (0, 90)
9. Cedric Mullins (0, 87)
10. Brandon Lowe, Rays (0, 34)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *